ALF 10s

Join us for the ALF 10s 2018

Saturday 7 July 2018, 
Westcliff Rugby Club, Essex SS2 6UN

Team entry £150
Cup, bowl, plate and vase competitions – cup winners receive £1,000 cash prizes / live music / post-tournament party

t: 07970 125 782 (Chris Whiston)
t: 07749 542 051 (Lewis Harvey)

About the ALF 10s

The ALF 10s annual rugby tournament is the flagship fundraising event of the Aaron Lewis Foundation and takes place at Westcliff Rugby Club – normally in or around early July.

The idea of holding a rugby tournament in Aaron’s honour was the brainchild of a group of his close friends. The inaugural event in 2009 saw just four teams compete. From those modest beginnings, it has expanded each year with some 16 teams taking part in 2016. Attendances across the day exceeded 2,000 people.

The ALF 10s has become a very significant event both for the local south-east Essex community and the wider rugby playing public. It captures Aaron’s spirit perfectly with a combination of sport, fundraising, music, fancy dress, and of course (Aaron’s favourite) sambuca.

The event has raised tens of thousands of pounds over the years. In 2016, the bar was raised again with more than £8,000 being generated. All profit goes to the Aaron Lewis Foundation.

The tournament has become a must for clubs and supporters on the Essex rugby circuit, but teams, supporters and other stakeholders also come from far and wide – Aaron’s regiment, the 29 Commando Regiment Royal Artillery (based in Plymouth), regularly fields a side and in 2016 we welcomed a team from France!

Fittingly, the ALF 10s is hosted by Westcliff Rugby Club – where Aaron forged his rugby playing career, and is an institution with which the Aaron Lewis Foundation has built close ties.  The Aaron Lewis Foundation is extremely grateful for the club’s support.

For a taster of last year’s tournament, please download the ALF10s 2017 matchday programme here.

Previous Winners

  • 2017 The Phallus Warriors
  • 2016 Team ALF
  • 2015 The Phallus Warriors
  • 2014 Team Apollo
  • 2013 The Phallus Warriors
  • 2012 Kamikaze RFC
  • 2011 Wanstead RFC
  • 2010 Esher
  • 2009 The Collective

Previous Years